Societies

The Museum of Natural History hosts regular meetings for a number of local and provincial societies. These societies host a number of their own events but are not administered by the Museum.

A full list of Societies include:

Antique Car Club
Website: http://hacc.chebucto.org
Public Contacts
Gerald Lawlor Ph: 445-4067 / email: lawlor52@hotmail.com
Official Mailing Address
PO Box 2303, Halifax, NS, B3N 2E4

Atlantic Rhododendron Horticultural Society
Website: www.atlanticrhodo.org
Public Contacts
Sheila Stevenson Ph: 479-3740 / email: smstevenson@eastlink.ca
Ruth Jackson Ph: 454-4681 / email: rujackso@nrcan.gc.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o: 5371 Duffus St., Halifax, NS, B3K 2L9

Atlantic Spinners and Handweavers
Website: www.ashguild.ca/
Public Contacts
Daphne Trenaman Ph: 454-4604 / email: aj175@chebucto.ns.ca
Lois Perry Ph: 864-6617 / email: perrylj@ns.sympatico.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o Museum of Natural History

First Halifax African Violet Society
Website: http://DIR.Gardenweb.com/Directory/FHARVS/
Public Contacts
Bernetta Fisher Ph: 445-2751
Ina Beaver Ph: 827-2392
Official Mailing Address
1 Oak Street, Apt. 202, Dartmouth, NS B3A 1Y7

Friends of Philately
Public Contacts
Phil Melanson Ph: 902-876-6302 / email: philipmelanson@yahoo.com
Official Mailing Address
c/o Museum of Natural History

Halifax Field Naturalists
Website: www.hfn.chebucto.org
Public Contacts
David Patriquin Ph: 423-5716 / email: patriqui@dal.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o: Museum of Natural History

Halifax/Westmoor Horticultural Society (Garden Club)
Public Contact
Natalie Harvey Ph: 455-2820 / email: halifaxwestmoor@yahoo.ca
Joan Clark Ph: 865-7070
Official Mailing Address
Secretary, Halifax Westmoor Garden Club, 18 Malik Court, Lower Sackville, NS B4C 3V7
Email: halifaxwestmoor@yahoo.ca

Halifax Wildlife Association
Website: www.halifaxwildlife.ns.ca
Public Contact
John Fraser Ph: 428-7568 (d) 435-6594 (e) / email: jc.fraser@nspower.ca
Mike Pollard Ph: 481-1157 (d) 434-1925 (e) / email: mikepollard@ns.sympatico.ca
Official Mailing Address
PO Box 31055, RPO Gladstone, Halifax, NS, B3K 5T9

Heritage Trust of Nova Scotia
Website: www.htns.ca
Public Contact
Peter Delefes Ph: 826-2087 / email: pdelefes@eastlink.ca
Official Mailing Address
PO Box 36111, RPO Spring Garden Road, Halifax, NS, B3J 3S9 / heritage.trust@ns.sympatico.ca

Marine Animal Response Society (MARS) (mailing only)
Public Contact
Tonya Wimmer Ph: 1-866-567-6277 email: twimmer@dal.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o Museum of Natural History

Nova Scotia Bird Society
Website: www.nsbs.chebucto.org
Public Contacts
Suzanne Borkowski Ph: 445-2922 / suzanneborkowski@yahoo.ca
Patrick Kelly Ph: (Day) 494-3294 (Evening) 798-3329/ email: Patrick.kelly@dal.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o: Museum of Natural History

Nova Scotian Institute of Science
Website: www.chebucto.ns.ca/Science/NSIS/
Public Contacts
Dr. David Richardson Ph: 496-8714 (d) 420-4979 (e) / david.richardson@smu.ca
Ron MacKay Ph: 457-6293 (d) 429-4778 (e) / Ron.MacKay@msvu.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o: Killiam Memorial Library, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS B3H 4H8

Nova Scotia Mineral and Gem Society
Website: www.nsmgs.ca/
Public Contacts
William Blinn Ph: 440-5083(d) 445-2721(e) / email: whblinn@eastlink.ca
Terry Collett Ph: 434-5220 / email: terry.collett@ns.sympatico.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o: Museum of Natural History

Nova Scotia Stamp Club
Website: www.nsstampclub.ca
Public Contacts
Marilyn Melanson Ph: 443-5434 / email: mlmelanson@ns.sympatico.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o: Museum of Natural History

Nova Scotia Wild Flora Society
Website: www.nswildflora.ca
Public Contacts
Heather Drope Ph: 423-7032 / email: heather.drope@ns.sympatico.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o: Museum of Natural History

Photographic Guild of Nova Scotia
Website: www.photoguild.ns.ca
Public Contacts
John Wm. Webb Ph: 757-2599 / email: johnwmwebb@eastlink.ca
Elio Dolente Ph: 835-1746 / email: Dolente@ns.sympatico.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o: Museum of Natural History

Town Clock Stitchers
Public Contacts
Holly Boutilier Ph: 835-6196 / email: shboutilier1@ns.sympatico.ca
Official Mailing Address
c/o Museum of Natural History

Nova Scotia Wildlife Carvers and Artists Association
Website: nswcaa.ednet.ns.ca
Public Contacts
Sheila Young Ph: 542-9639 / email: youngducks@ns.sympatico.ca
Donnie Arnburg Ph: 679-5297 / email: treetolifecarvings@xcounty.tv
Official Mailing Address
78 Cavalier Drive, Lr. Sackville, NS B4C 3K5

Young Naturalists Club
Website: http://nature1st.net/ync
YNC Coordinator Robin Musselman
Ph: 455-5643
yncns@yahoo.ca
Official Mailing Address:
c/o Museum of Natural History